44 ( +1 | -1 ) stalemate rulesis there actually a rule that says "if player A fails to checkmate player B in X amount of moves when player b only has a king remaining, then the game is a draw" ?? many people seem to think there is such a rule, but everyone thinks X is a different number. I have heard anywhere from 13 to 50 is the number of moves before a draw happens. Im sure someone knows the official ruling....
20 ( +1 | -1 ) Actually if there are 50 consecutive moves played in which there are no pawn moves or no pawn captures the game is drawn. That covers just about every situation one can think of.
90 ( +1 | -1 ) the end of the game, StalemateRight at the end of those rules, it is noted the following...first a definition of Stalemate:
5.2 The game is drawn when the player to move has no legal move and his king is not in check. The game is said to end in 'stalemate'. This immediately ends the game.
5.5 The game may be drawn if the last 50 consecutive moves have been made by each player without the movement of any pawn and without the capture of any piece.
so, no, rule 5.5 has nothing to do with stalemate, but it is drawn. The rules also say...
5.4 The game may be drawn if the identical position is about to appear or has appeared on the chessboard three times.
Now then, in the case of 5.5, I am not sure if the words 'may be drawn' mean something different from 'is drawn' or not, however, in 5.4, I have always known that the game is to end when an identical position is appeared 3 times. So, as I do not know, this may or may not mean that the game is over. Good luck!!!
43 ( +1 | -1 ) May be drawnI suspect that the word "may" is used to indicate that one of the players might need to actually claim a draw in such circumstances, whereas in stalemate it is indisputably drawn. There are so many ways to draw a game, e.g. perpetual check, repitition, stalemate, agreement between both players, insufficient material for either player to force checkmate, adjudication in some tournaments across the board. to mention a few.
32 ( +1 | -1 ) OTB 50 Move Rule/Triple Rep RuleMuppyman is correct--in OTB chess, the player must claim the draw in these cases and have a scoresheet (or in some cases an arbiter's observation) which supports the claim. Some players have been known to repeat a position 4 or 5 times with neither the player nor the opponent claiming the draw . . .